Report an Absence

  • COCISD requires all students who have been absent from school to submit to the campus front office a note from their parent/guardian or other document giving the reason for their absence on the day they return to school.

    Documentation may also be submitted via email to the campus attendance office as outlined below.

    If documentation is not received within three (3) days after the student returns to school, the absence will be permanently unexcused. Late documentation will not be accepted.

It's the law

  • Texas law requires registered students to attend school.

    Good attendance is important for many reasons. Your child receives the maximum benefit of education by being in school every day, and numerous studies show a strong link between academic performance and consistent attendance. Because attendance is so critical for the quality of your child’s education, Texas has a compulsory attendance law.

    State law requires children to attend school each day that instruction is provided. The law applies to children ages 6–19. If you voluntarily enroll your child in prekindergarten or kindergarten before age 6, school attendance laws apply to your child, too. A person who voluntarily enrolls in or attends school after turning 19 is also required to attend for the entire period of the program of instruction.

    The 90 Percent Rule

    In addition to compulsory attendance law, districts are required to enforce the 90 percent rule, which states that students in grades K-12 must attend class for 90 percent of the time it is offered to receive credit or a final grade. The 90 percent rule applies to all absences, including excused absences. If the student doesn’t meet this requirement, an attendance committee may grant the student credit or a final grade, depending on the circumstances.

    Report your child's absence with the convenience of an email

    If your child is going to be absent for any reason it is vitally important for you to notify the campus. If your child is going to be absent for more than one day, it is even more important for you to contact your child's campus to discuss options you may have to avoid unexcused absences or missed classroom time that may result in your child not passing the class because of the 90 percent rule.

    If your child is sick with any of the following symptoms, please do not send him/her to school and contact the campus clinic as soon as possible:

    • Fever of 100.0 or higher
    • Vomiting
    • Diarrhea
    • Cough, shortness of breath, or difficulty breathing
    • Unusual muscle or body aches
    • Sore throat

    Parents/guardians who wish to use this service must have a valid email address documented at the campus. Email addresses are submitted with parent/guardian contact information in the student packets at the beginning of the school year or at new student registration. If you are unsure if your current email address is documented, contact the campus attendance clerk.

  • To report a student's absence by email, include the following information:

    • The student's first and last name (nicknames will  not be accepted)
    • Date(s) of the absence
    • The reason for the absence
    • Parent/guardian's first and last name
    • Contact phone number in case there are questions
    Failure to include the above information will result in an invalid absence notification.
    Send the email to the campus attendance clerk (we have included the phone numbers in case you need assistance):
    James Street Elementary & Coldspring Intermediate
    Courtney Moreno - 936-653-1190
    Lincoln Junior High School
    Terrie Watson - 936-653-1156
    Coldspring-Oakhurst High School
    Yolanda Martinez - 936-653-1124
If you are having trouble viewing the document, you may download the document.